Ladies News, Events and Results



Lady Captain's Day

by ladies

on Mon July 8, 2019

The Lady Captain's Day was held on Saturday 29th June under blue skies and hot sun, the hottest day of the year so far. Over thirty ladies took part in the stableford watlz in teams of three.  The winners, who were presented with their prizes by Marie after a two course meal were:

1st overall - Pat Jones, Lizzie Bryant & Gloria Barber 69 pts; 2nd - Christina Francis, Nadine Stock & Anne Kirk 66 pts

Best front nine - Loes de Kleuver, Audrey Holland & Ann James; best back nine - Mel Sutherland, Gail painter & Mary Lock.

Nearest the pin on the 7th - Sarah Hynds. No one was nearest the pin on the 3rd! Putting competition was won by Liz South

The halfway house was run by Lady Captain Marie Cusworth and husband Patrick and the cold flannels and iced water were very welcome on the course.

Jim Worsley, Club Chairman ran the putting competition which raised some money for the club charity.


Away Day

by ladies

on Sun June 16, 2019

Twenty Seven ladies took part in the Away Day on Tuesday 11th June at Wrag Barn Golf Club near Swindon.  The format was a team bowmaker with two scores out of three to count with full handicap.  The team winners on count back were Loes de Kleuver, Jackie Pudney and Michele Fairweather with 73 points. With the same number of points Audrey Holland, Christine Arnold and Veronica Cherry were second and in third place with 72 points Liz South, Ann James and Anne Carpenter. Liz South won the Silver Individual Stableford Trophy and Veronica Cherry the Bronze Trophy.  Loes de Kleuver won the silver nearest the pin and Ann James won the bronze. Despite the weather being rather unkind everyone had a very enjoyable day.

Vincent Cup

by ladies

on Mon June 10, 2019

The Vincent Cup which is played in two rounds on consecutive Sundays was won by Loes de Kleuver.  

The first round was won by Sarah Hynds with a net 73, 2nd was Loes de Kleuver with 75 and 3rd Liz South with 78

The second round was won by Audrey Holland with a nett 73, 2nd Liz South with 74 and 3rd Loes de Kleuver with 74

Over the two rounds Loes who came 1st had a total of 149, Liz South (2nd) with 152 and Sarah Hynds (3rd) with 155

Barlow/Dickinson Cup

by ladies

on Mon June 10, 2019

The winner of the Dickinson Cup (silver players) this year was Anne Regler with a nett score of 74 and the winner of the Barlow Cup (bronze players) was Anne James with 31 stableford points.

Barwell Masters

by ladies

on Fri May 24, 2019

The winner of this year's Barwell Masters trophy is Gail Painter.  Gail won with a nett 73, Diana Bullock was 2nd with a nett 75 and 3rd Veronica Cherry with nett 76.  The competition took place on Saturday 18th May and 13 ladies took part.

Older NewsNewer News