Ladies News, Events and Results



Ladies Club Championships- Day 2

by ladies

on Wed August 8, 2018


The second day of the Ladies' Club Championship took place on Sunday 5th August, a week later than scheduled due to the bad weather conditions on 29th July. The rescheduled round was played on a hot sunny day with very dry course conditions.  Congratulations go to Anne Regler for being the Lady Club Champion for a second consecutive year.  Congratulations also go to Loes de Kleuver for being Runner up and being only one point behind Anne. The full results as follows:

Day 2

Silver gross - 1st Anne Regler 83, 2nd Christina Francis 87

Bronze gross - 1st Kate Chadwick 90, 2nd Jackie Pudney 93

Silver nett - 1st Christina Francis 70, 2nd Anne Regler 70

Bronze nett - 1st Kate Chadwick 68, 2nd Jackie Pudney 72


Bronze nett overall (Dicken Cup) - Sonia Probert 144

Bronze Champion (Louis Goblet) - Sonia Probert 188

Third Place nett overall - Debbie Mullins 147

Runner up nett overall - Kate Chadwick 147

Silver nett overall (Wilder Cup) - Gail Painter 146

Third Place ('New Cup') - Jan Light 184

Runner up (Claret Jug) - Loes de Kleuver 176

Ladies Champion (Harris Trophy) - Anne Regler 175


Ladies Club Championships - Day 1

by ladies

on Sun August 5, 2018

The first round of the Ladies Championship took place on Saturday 28th July in much cooler blustery conditions than of late. The results of the first round:

Silver gross: 1st Loes de Kleuver 87, 2nd Anne Regler 92

Bronze gross: 1st Sonia Probert 92, 2nd Debbied Mullins 94

Silver nett: 1st Gail Painter 73, 2nd Loes de Kleuver 76

Bronze nett: 1st Sonia 70, 2nd Debbie Mullins 72


Ladies Invitation Day

by ladies

on Sun July 15, 2018

  Another successful golf day took place on Tuesday 10th July when 34 ladies took part in the Orchardleigh Ladies Invitation Day.  The continuing dry, summer conditions meant the scores were some of the best seen in a while.  The 4BBB comprised a member and her guest; and the following prizes were awarded:  

1st overall - Pat Jones and Iris Macey with 49 pts

2nd overall - Penny Naish and Alison Rumming with 48 pts (ocb)

Best front 9 - Mary Lock and her daughter Sue Kirby with 24 pts

Best back 9 - Marion Underhill and Nicky Benson with 27 pts

Nearest the pin for Bronze visitors was won by Pam Street and Silver by Gill Smith.   

Following the golf, the ladies sat down to a lovely two course meal and enjoyed a drink on the terrace.


Ladies' Captain's Day

by ladies

on Wed July 4, 2018


This year's Ladies' Captain's Day was held on Saturday, 30th June under blue skies and scorching sun.  Teams of 3 played a Texas Scramble using 'RainbowTees' (red, yellow and blue). From the 30 players taking part, the following were the day's winners and received prizes given by Lady Captain Lorraine Collings.

1st overall: Kate Chadwick, Dawn Russell and Lizzie Bryant

2nd overall: Diana Bullock, Veronica Cherry and Anne Kirk

Best front: Sarah Hynds, Jackie Pudney and Sheila Goodbody

Best back: Anne Regler, Di Norris and Christine Arnold

Nearest the pin on the 3rd was Anne Carpenter and on the 7th was Christine Arnold

The putting competition was won by Michele Fairweather.

The halfway house was 'manned' by the Club Captain, Nel McGuiness who kindly provided a wonderful array of refreshments, together with lots of cold water and ice lollies to keep everyone hydrated. Jim Worsley, the Club Chairman, set up and ran the putting competition and our ladies on the welcome desk sold raffle tickets that helped raise £150 for the club charities, Dorothy House and Fair Frome. Once the golf was completed, the ladies sat down to a well earned two-course meal.


Away Day

by ladies

on Fri June 15, 2018

The Ladies Away Day took place at Knowle Golf Club in Bristol on Tuesday 12th June.  It was a very enjoyable day for the 24 ladies who took part. The course was a challenge but in great condition and the weather was fine.  After a very good two course meal Lorraine gave out the prizes. The team prizes for the best two scores out of three were:

1st - Sarah Doble, Christine Arnold and Kate Chadwick - 70 pts

2nd(ocb) - Loes de Kleuver, Jackie Pudney and Vron Jefferies - 67 pts

3rd - Sue Sweet, Di Norris and Veronica Cherry - 67 pts

The silver winner of the best individual score was Sue Sweet with 32 pts and the bronze winner was Kate Chadwick with 32 pts.

Older News